Gardening at night: the bok choi edition

September 1, 2008 at 7:56 pm 1 comment

On my way to Green Zone this evening, I got a glimpse of what looked like a guy tending a vegetable garden at the edge of a Downtown Providence parking lot. On my way home, I stopped at his plot. He was watering rows of leafy veg with a tray and a pickle bucket full of water. I chatted with him, though there was a bit of a language barrier. He said he was growing bok choi and scallions for himself and a friend.

I’ll have to go back during the day to check out his crop, but it looked happy and healthy. How many times have I passed by and not even noticed the bok choi farm?!?! I’ll post a photo in the future. Hats off to this guerilla gardener!

And I had no idea R.E.M.’s “Gardening at Night” was all about this.

Entry filed under: gardens, guerilla gardening, Providence, urban agriculture, vegetables. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Niagara soars! Gardening at night in the Green Zone

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jeff-nhn  |  September 2, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Gardening comes in all sizes and shapes. Even in the night! You do what you gotta do for the leafy greens.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


