Gardening at night in the Green Zone

September 3, 2008 at 9:31 pm 3 comments

A quick flash of the downtown bok choi garden at night. See the parking lot stripe? This is truly reclaimed space!

Another after-dark visit to water Green Zone. What happened to our wet Rhode Island summer? Anyway, it’s hard to fuss over the garden when I can barely see it. I can catch some stray morning glory tendrils, but I can’t tell brown leaves from green. I can feel how dry the soil is and water, water, water, but I can’t see what the bugs are chewing.

I was surprised to find a bicycle behind a green wall of bean and gourd leaves. Barely noticed it until I got up close. Good thing I brought my seeing-eye dog to keep me company in the dark. 

Entry filed under: food, gardening at night, gardens, guerilla gardening, urban agriculture. Tags: , , , .

Gardening at night: the bok choi edition What plants crave: Green Drinks 9/18

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  September 6, 2008 at 7:42 am

    I’m glad to see your beautiful canine friend accompanied you.

    Reply
  • 2. Shibaguyz  |  September 6, 2008 at 9:48 am

    hehehe… you’re as bad as we are. Can’t tell you how many times we’ve come home late only to break out the flashlights and inspect the garden by torch. LOL The things we do for love…

    Reply
  • 3. Joyce  |  September 19, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    O L I V I A !!! How I miss thee! She looks lovely as ever!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


