On the verge

September 9, 2008 at 8:20 pm 4 comments

Green Zone is teetering on the verge.

The garden is slowly shutting down as bugs and autumn and rootyness take over. I’m aiming to keep the plants alive through September. Green Drinks (on Sept. 18, be there!) will be a closing reception for the garden. Firehouse 13 is thinking about installing a bigger and brawnier garden next year, possibly with tires, so I’m leaving the Green Zone eight behind. Soil will be dumped back in my compost bin–or maybe at a new compost at Firehouse–and I’ll take the shopping bags to the store for recycling. I think the shoes will walk home with me for future planting.

The end of the September will also mark a new direction for the blog. RI Council for the Humanities gave me a grant to pursue research on the history of Rhode Island’s wartime gardens. Thank you, RICH! This will give me a chance to follow the leads I’ve found so far…30 acres of War Gardens at Brown and Sharpe, a guy in Bristol who still tends his WWII-era Victory Garden, local garden clubs who coordinated activities during the wars, etc. I’ll use the blog to post updates from my research.

As part of the public outreach for the grant project, I’ll organize a discussion panel to present my research and some other points of view on victory gardens. Look out for that next spring.

In the meantime, I’m enjoying the verge…just like this pink and orange zinnia-filled verge on Doyle Avenue

Entry filed under: Firehouse 13, gardens, green drinks, Green Zone Garden, War Gardens. Tags: , , , , , , .

What plants crave: Green Drinks 9/18 Unlikely agriculture

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nancybond  |  September 10, 2008 at 9:54 am

    On the verge, perhaps, but still stunningly pretty. That orange-pink combination is just about my favorite,

    Reply
  • 2. greenzonegarden  |  September 10, 2008 at 11:44 am

    I love pink and orange, too…and red and orange. A graphic designer friend told me that these near-on-the-color-wheel but far from typical color combos are all the rage.

    Reply
  • 3. Shibaguyz  |  September 11, 2008 at 12:31 am

    Congratulations on your research grant!! That is such a great opportunity for you. Maybe someday a researcher will ask us about our Victory Garden!

    Can’t wait to read your findings. Very cool!

    Reply
  • 4. Kate  |  September 14, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Congratulations on the grant! I look forward to reading the results of your research.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


