Save the date! Green Zones: From the War Garden to Your Garden

February 5, 2009 at 7:14 am 2 comments

wgvunclesamOn Tuesday, May 5, starting at 5:30pm, I’m hosting Green Zones: From the War Garden to Your Garden, a presentation on Victory Gardens, the Women’s Land Army of America, and how gardeners are growing their own food today. The event takes place at Firehouse 13, 41 Central Street in Providence.

Panelists include: Judy Barrett Litoff, Professor of History at Bryant University; Rich Pederson, City Farm Manager at Southside Community Trust; and Sarah Zurier, creator of Green Zone.

Green Zones: From the War Garden to Your Garden is made possible through major funding support from the Rhode Island Council for the Humanities, an independent state affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities.

More details to come this spring.

Entry filed under: events, Firehouse 13, food, gardens, Rhode Island, Victory Gardens, War Gardens, Women's Land Army of America. Tags: , , , , , , .

Yesterday and tomorrow: Local Food Forum Red carpet goes green

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cornelia  |  February 17, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    I’ll be there and I’m bringing friends!

    Reply
  • 2. Merri Marchetti  |  February 23, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    Hello, recently I left a post about my research on victory during WWI. I know that I was e-mail but I lost all of my e-mail when my computer broke down. If it not to much could you resend the e-mail you previsoly e-mail me. Again I am doing research about victory gardens specifically in RI if I can get any information. Let me know fi you know any monographs or secondary source material on the subject. Thank you merri

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


